Regulations for Emissions from Vehicles and Engines

Federal Fleets using Low-Greenhouse Gas Emitting Vehicles

On this page:

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.


Section 141 of the 2007 Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) requires federal agencies to acquire low greenhouse gas (GHG) emitting vehicles.

Each model year (MY), EPA evaluates the GHG emissions performance of the light-duty (LD) fleet to determine the maximum allowable GHG emissions level to be designated a low GHG-emitting vehicle.

Top of Page

How do we define a low-GHG emitting vehicle?

EISA 141 compliance levels are based on specific CO2 gram/mile maximum emissions levels. The CO2 emissions level threshold for any given model year will be determined by estimating the level needed to designate approximately 25% of cars and 25% of LD trucks and medium-duty passenger vehicles (MDPVs) as EISA 141 compliant.

EISA 141 Compliance Thresholds
(maximum grams/mile CO2 emissions)
  MY 2015 MY 2016 MY 2017
Passenger Cars 305 300 300
Light-Duty Trucks, MDPVs 380 375 375
FFV Passenger Cars* (on E85) 350 300 300
FFV Light-Duty Trucks* (on E85) 425 375 375

*For MY 2015 and earlier, if operated on E85. As of MY 2016, FFVs must meet the same thresholds as other cars and trucks regardless of the fuel used. See the EISA Sec. 141 Guidance (PDF) (28 pp, 1.33 MB, EPA-420-B-16-055, May 2016) for more details.

Top of Page

What vehicles are considered low GHG-emitting?

Find a low GHG-emitting passenger car, truck, or FFV* for

* FFVs are listed separately under vehicle type, as some FFVs only qualify when operated with E-85. These vehicles must be operated with E-85 in order to qualify as low GHG-emitting.

Top of page

What are the compliance levels by agency/office?

This chart displays the EISA 141 compliance levels by federal agency for fiscal year 2015 vehicle acquisitions as reported in FAST.**

Agency/Office Fiscal Year 2015
Corps of Engineers, Civil Works 30%
Defense Agencies 58%
Department of Agriculture 67%
Department of Air Force 21%
Department of Army 38%
Department of Commerce 27%
Department of Energy 96%
Department of Health and Human Services 31%
Department of Homeland Security 68%
Department of Housing and Urban Development 30%
Department of Justice 82%
Department of Labor 100%
Department of Navy 67%
Department of State 100%
Department of the Interior 25%
Department of the Treasury 98%
Department of Transportation 100%
Department of Veterans Affairs 85%
Environmental Protection Agency 100%
General Services Administration 61%
National Aeronautics and Space Administration 100%
Office of Personnel Management 66%
Peace Corps 100%
Social Security Administration 96%
Tennessee Valley Authority 59%
U.S. Postal Service 99%
United States Marine Corps 100%

*Vehicles that use the “functional needs” or “alternative measures” exceptions are considered compliant (see page 8-9 in the EISA Sec. 141 Guidance (PDF) (28 pp, 1.33 MB, EPA-420-B-16-066, May 2016) for details).

**For simplicity, only agencies with 50 or more fiscal year 2015 vehicle acquisitions are displayed. Agencies with fewer acquisitions are still subject to EISA 141.

Top of page

Guidance documents and other resources

  1. EISA Sec. 141 Guidance (PDF) (28 pp, 1.33 MB, EPA-420-B-16-055, May 2016)
  2. EISA Sect. 141 Vehicle GHG Assessment Tool Final (XLS)(35 K, May 2014)
  3. For assistance with "alternative measures," agencies should look into U.S. EPA climate-related partnership programs that provide a wide variety of services and resources to measure and reduce GHG emissions. These programs include:
  4. EISA 141: Low GHG-Emitting Vehicle Program Archived Information

Top of Page

Regulations for Emissions from Vehicles and Engines Home