Federally-Promulgated Water Quality Standards for Specific States, Territories, and Tribes

In instances when state-specific water quality standards have not been developed or approved by EPA, the Agency will propose and/or promulgate standards for a state until such time as the state submits and EPA approves their own standards.

The lists below do not include states, territories or tribes covered only by federal standards applicable to multiple states, such as the Bacteria Rule for Coastal and Great Lakes Waters, and the National Toxics Rule.

On this page:

States with Federally Promulgated Standards

Territories with Federally Promulgated Standards

Tribes with Federally Promulgated Standards

To view state, tribal and territorial standards that EPA has approved or are otherwise in effect for Clean Water Act purposes, visit the State-Specific Water Quality Standards Effective Under the Clean Water Act (CWA).

Top of Page