State, Tribal, and Local Wetland Protection Resources

States and tribes play a critical role in the protection and management of our nation's wetlands. Most states and many tribes have increased their roles in wetlands protection and management by adopting any of a number of wetlands programs or tools. Components of comprehensive wetlands programs which various states and sribes have adopted include:

Enhanced State and Tribal Program (ESTP) Initiative

Enhancing State and Tribal Wetland Programs Initiative 

State and Tribal Wetland Program Plans

Wetland Program Plans

Funding Assistance for States and Tribes

Funding assistance for states and tribes

Analysis of Core Components of State Wetland Programs

The Environmental Law Institute, with grant funding from the EPA, has conducted a multi-phased study designed to describe and analyze seven components of state wetland programs: state laws, regulations, and programs; monitoring and assessment; restoration programs and activities; water quality standards; public-private partnerships; coordination among state and federal agencies; and education and outreach activities. Each phase of the study examines a cross-section of states representing various approaches to wetland protection and regulation, as well as geographic diversity.

Phase I report : Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Washington

Phase II report : Florida, Hawaii, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin

Phase III report : Alabama, California, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, New Mexico, South Dakota, Virginia, and Wyoming

Phase IV report : Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi,Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Tennessee