Region 8 Tribal Program

EPA Region 8 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The region serves 27 federally recognized tribes, located within the states of Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) 

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA.

The Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 8

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Intertribal Consortia.
For more information regarding the administration of GAP in Region 8, see the Region 8 Tribal Contacts list.

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 8

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 8, contact Alfreda Mitre at 303-312-6343.

Federally Recognized Tribes in Region 8

The map below shows the boundaries of the federally recognized tribal nations within Region 8.

Map showing the location of Tribal nations within EPA Region 8 states' borders