Region 7 Tribal Program

EPA Region 7 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The region serves 7 federally recognized tribes within the states of Kansas, Nebraska, and Iowa.

On this page:

Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC)

The Region 7 Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) serves critical functions in maintaining the government-to-government relationship between EPA and the federally-recognized tribes located within Region 7.  The RTOC assists with advancing the protection and improving the conditions of tribal health and the environment in Indian country. It serves as a liaison between the National Tribal Operations Committee (NTOC), the tribal nations of Region 7, and EPA Region 7 personnel on national policy issues, and communicates environmental needs and concerns of the RTOC to the NTOC.

The RTOC maintains open and consistent communications with the Regional Administrator and EPA staff on matters of significance to the tribal nations of Region 7. The RTOC also assists EPA in implementing the 1984 Indian Policy.

For more RTOC information, contact Patrick Bustos (

Federally-Recognized Tribes in Region 7

Tribal Contacts »

Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska
Kickapoo Tribe in Kansas
Meskwaki Nation  (Sac & Fox Tribe of the Mississippi in Iowa)   
Omaha Tribe of Nebraska and Iowa 
Ponca Tribe of Nebraska 
Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation 
Sac & Fox Nation of Missouri in Kansas & Nebraska 
Santee Sioux Nation 
Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

Top of Page