Region 6 Tribal Program

EPA Region 6 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The Region serves 66 federally recognized tribes in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) 

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA. For more information, please contact Mark Allen, our Tribal Ombudsman, at (214) 665-2719.

Region 6's RTOC charter

Indian General Assistance Program (GAP)

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Intertribal Consortia. See the regional GAP information below for further details on the administration of GAP in Region 6.

Tribal Funding Announcements

Tribal Consultation and Coordination in Region 6

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 6, see the regional procedures below.

Federally Recognized Tribes in Region 6

  • Louisiana
    • Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
    • Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana
    • Jena Band of Choctaw Indians
    • Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe
  • New Mexico
    • Pueblo of Acoma
    • Pueblo of Cochiti
    • Pueblo of Isleta
    • Pueblo of Jemez
    • Jicarilla Apache Nation
    • Pueblo of Santo Domingo
    • Pueblo of Laguna
    • Mescalero Apache Tribe
    • Pueblo of Nambe
    • Pueblo of Picuris
    • Pueblo of Pojoaque
    • Pueblo of Sandia
    • Pueblo of San Felipe
    • Pueblo of San Ildefonso
    • Ohkay Owingeh
    • Pueblo of Santa Ana
    • Pueblo of Santa Clara
    • Pueblo of Taos
    • Pueblo of Tesuque
    • Pueblo of Zia
    • Pueblo of Zuni
    • Eight Northern Indian Pueblos Council
  • Oklahoma
    • Absentee-Shawnee Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
    • Alabama-Quassarte Tribal Town
    • Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Caddo Nation of Oklahoma
    • Cherokee Nation
    • Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes
    • The Chickasaw Nation
    • The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
    • Citizen Potawatomi Nation
    • Comanche Nation
    • Delaware Nation
    • Delaware Tribe of Indians
    • Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Fort Sill Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Kaw Nation
    • Kialegee Tribal Town
    • Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Kiowa Indian Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Miami Tribe of Oklahoma
    • The Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma
    • The Muscogee (Creek) Nation
    • The Osage Nation
    • Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians
    • Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma
    • Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma
    • Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
    • Ponca Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
    • The Quapaw Tribe of Indians
    • Sac & Fox Nation
    • The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma
    • Seneca-Cayuga Nation
    • Shawnee Tribe
    • Thlopthlocco Tribal Town
    • Tonkawa Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
    • United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee
    • Indians of Oklahoma
    • Wichita and Affiliated Tribes
    • Wyandotte Nation
    • Inter-Tribal Environmental Council of Oklahoma
  • Texas
    • Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas
    • Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas
    • Ysleta del Sur Pueblo