Chemical Manufacturing Area Sources: National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP)

Rule Summary

These national emission standards are for the control of hazardous air pollutants for nine area source categories in the chemical manufacturing sector: Agricultural Chemicals and Pesticides Manufacturing, Cyclic Crude and Intermediate Production, Industrial Inorganic Chemical Manufacturing, Industrial Organic Chemical Manufacturing, Inorganic Pigments Manufacturing, Miscellaneous Organic Chemical Manufacturing, Plastic Materials and Resins Manufacturing, Pharmaceutical Production, and Synthetic Rubber Manufacturing.

The standards and associated requirements for the nine area source categories are combined in one subpart. This final rule establishes emission standards in the form of management practices for each chemical manufacturing process unit as well as emission limits for certain subcategories of process vents and storage tanks.

The rule also establishes management practices and other emission reduction requirements for subcategories of wastewater systems and heat exchange systems.

See the regulations below for more details.

Rule History

12/21/2012 - Final Rule; Lift Stay of Final Rule

10/25/2012 - Final Rule; Stay

01/30/2012 - Proposed Rule; Notice of Reconsideration of Final Rule

03/14/2011 - Final Rule

12/14/2010 - Proposed Rule

12/14/2010 - Final Rule; Stay for Permit Applications

10/29/2009 - Final Rule

11/20/2008 - Notice of Extension of Public Comment Period

10/06/2008 - Proposed Rule

Additional Resources

Fact Sheet: Final Air Toxics Standards for Area Sources in the Chemical Manufacturing Industry

View the supporting documents in the docket folder to find additional related documents to this rule.