

STATE OF ARKANSAS

ASA HUTCHINSON GOVERNOR

September 29, 2016

Mr. Ron Curry Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region VI 1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200 Dallas, Texas 75202-2733

Re:

Ozone (O₃) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) Area Attainment Designation Recommendations for Counties in the State of Arkansas

Dear Mr. Curry:

Section 107(d)(1) of the federal Clean Air Act requires state governors to recommend attainment status designations within one year of the promulgation of any new or revised National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS). On October 26, 2015, EPA promulgated a new eight-hour NAAQS for ozone (O_3) at 70 parts per billion (ppb), to replace the previous standard of 75 ppb.

Pursuant to the above-stated requirement, I am providing the enclosed recommendations for the designation of areas in Arkansas with regard to the revised NAAQS for eight-hour ozone. The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality developed these recommendations based on currently available ozone monitoring data for all areas in Arkansas for the 2013 through 2015 period.

All counties should be designated as either "attainment" or "unclassifiable/attainment" for the new O_3 standard. A complete list with recommendations for each county is attached.

If you have questions regarding this submittal, please contact Stuart Spencer, Associate Director, Office of Air Quality, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72218-5317, (501) 682-0750. We look forward to your prompt review of these designation recommendations.

Asa Hutchinson

cc: Becky Keogh, ADEQ Director

Stuart Spencer, ADEQ Associate Director, Office of Air Quality Wren Stenger, EPA Region VI Multimedia Division Director

Enclosure: Table of Arkansas County Designation Recommendations