

MATTHEW G. BEVIN
GOVERNOR

CHARLES G. SNAVELY
SECRETARY

ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT CABINET DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

DIVISION FOR AIR QUALITY 200 FAIR OAKS LANE, 1ST FLOOR FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601-1403 Web site: air.ky.gov

January 7, 2016

Ms. Heather McTeer Toney Regional Administrator U.S. EPA, Region 4 61 Forsyth Street, SW Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3104

Re: List of sources emitting more than 2,000 tpy SO₂ as required by 40 CFR 51.1203

Dear Ms. McTeer Toney,

On August 21, 2015, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published data requirements for air agencies to characterize ambient sulfur dioxide (SO₂) concentrations to implement the 1-hour SO₂ National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). The final rule, also known as the Data Requirements Rule (DRR), requires each air agency to submit a list of applicable SO₂ sources identified pursuant to 40 CFR 51.1202 located in its jurisdiction to the EPA by January 15, 2016.

To comply with 40 CFR 51.1203, the following sources exceeded the 2,000 tpy threshold for SO₂, based on 2014 actual emissions:

	2014 Actual
Facility Name	Emissions (tons)
KY Power Co-Big Sandy Plant	35,493
Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) - Shawnee Fossil Plant	29,835
KY Utilities Co - Green River Station	21,967
Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) - Paradise Fossil Plant	19,655
KY Utilities Co - Ghent Generation Station	14,851
Big Rivers Electric Corp - Reid HMP&L Station 2 / Green Station Landfill	12,202
Big Rivers Electric Corp - Wilson Station	6,901
Owensboro Municipal Utilities - Elmer Smith Station	5,741
Century Aluminum Sebree LLC	4,739
East KY Power Coop - H L Spurlock Power Station	4,689
East KY Power Cooper Station	4,324
Big Rivers Electric Corp - Green Station	3,999
Louisville Gas & Electric - Trimble Co Generating Station	3,056
Century Aluminum of KY LLC	2,224
Duke Energy KY East Bend	2,103

^{1 80} FR 51052



Ms. McTeer Toney, Regional Administrator January 7, 2016 Page No. 2

Pursuant to 40 CFR 51.1203, please accept this list of applicable SO₂ sources on behalf of the Kentucky Division for Air Quality. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact Mr. Sean Alteri, Director of the Division for Air Quality, at (502) 564-3999 or Sean.Alteri@ky.gov

Sincerely yours,

Charles G. Snavely

Secretary

CGS/mrw