GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Department of Energy and Environment

November 4, 2015

RECEIVED

NOV 0 0 2015

Shawn M. Garvin
Regional Administrator
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Region III (Mail Code 3RA00)
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029

EPA, REGION III OFFICE OF REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR

Subject:

Data Requirements Rule for the 2010 1-Hour Sulfur Dioxide (SO₂) Primary

National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)

Dear Mr. Garvin:

In the Data Requirements Rule (DRR) for the 2010 1-hour SO₂ primary NAAQS (80 Fed. Reg. 51052), the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) requires each state to submit a list that identifies all sources within its jurisdiction that have SO₂ emissions at or above 2,000 actual tons per year (tpy), plus any additional sources and their associated areas identified as also warranting air quality characterization.

The District of Columbia (District) does not have any sources that emit SO_2 in quantities that would require air quality characterization as per the SO_2 DRR. The largest major source of SO_2 located inside the District is the U.S. Capitol Power Plant (CPP). During the most recent year for which emissions data are available, CPP emitted SO_2 in quantities far less than 2,000 tpy. This has been the case for several years, as indicated in the following table and reported to EPA for inclusion in the National Emissions Inventory (NEI):

Annual CPP SO₂ Emissions (in tpy)

2008	2009	2010	2011	2012	2013	2014*
240.6	176.3	38.8	45.6	46.3	3.0	10.9

Source: Emissions reported to NEI by the District of Columbia * 2014 estimates are preliminary

This letter has been submitted to meet the requirements of the DRR. If you need any additional information or have questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ms. Cecily Beall, Associate Director of the Air Quality Division, at 202-535-2626, or Rama Tangirala, Chief of the Monitoring and Assessment Branch, at 202-535-2989.

Sincerely,

Tommy Wells, Director

RECEIVED

NOV 1 8 2015

Division Director (3AP00)

Cc: Diana Esher, Director, Air Protection Division, EPA Region III



