

Office of the Governor

RICK PERRY GOVERNOR

April 20, 2012

Al Armendariz, Ph.D. Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Region 6 1445 Ross Avenue, Suite 1200 Dallas, Texas 75202-2733

Dear Dr. Armendariz:

Pursuant to the requirements in Section 107(d)(1)(A) of the Federal Clean Air Act, enclosed is a revised recommendation for designation of areas in Texas with regard to the 2010 National Ambient Air Quality Standard for one-hour sulfur dioxide (SO2) of 75 parts per billion (ppb). The most recent monitoring data show that Jefferson County is now in attainment of the standard. I am requesting to revise my recommendation to reflect this change.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) developed the enclosed revision to the June 2011 Texas recommendation, considering the latest available, certified regulatory monitoring data for Jefferson County from the 2009 – 2011 period. This revised recommendation reflects the improved air quality in Jefferson County, which has a 2009 – 2011 design value of 68 ppb. In accordance with the EPA Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards' Director Stephen Page's March 24, 2011, SO2 area designations memorandum, the commission understands that EPA intends to accept the most recently certified three years (2009 – 2011) of monitoring data as the basis for modifying previously submitted state designations.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to contact TCEQ Chairman Dr. Bryan Shaw at (512) 239-5510.

Sincerely,

Rick Perry Governor

RP:trp

Enclosure

cc: Bryan W. Shaw, Ph.D.

State of Texas 2010 One-Hour Sulfur Dioxide (SO₂) Standard Revised Designation Recommendation

Based on the 2011 design values, each county listed below should be designated attainment. All the rest of the counties in Texas should be designated unclassifiable.

County	2010 Design Value*	2011 Design Value**
Jefferson	77	68
Gregg	66	NA
Ellis	57	NA
Harris	56	NA
Galveston	41	NA
Nueces	28	NA
Kaufman	14	NA
El Paso	11	NA
Dallas	9	NA
McLennan	6	NA

^{* 2010} design values are calculated using 2008 through 2010 certified monitoring data.

NA = not available

^{** 2011} design values are calculated using 2009 through 2011 certified monitoring data. Only Jefferson County data have been certified by the TCEQ for 2011 on an expedited basis.