ILLINOIS ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY



1021 North Grand Avenue East, P.O. Box 19276, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276 • (217) 782-3397

BRUCE RAUNER, GOVERNOR

LISA BONNETT, DIRECTOR

217/782-3397

September 18, 2015

Dr. Susan Hedman U.S. Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region V (R-19J) 77 West Jackson Boulevard Chicago, Illinois 60604-3507

Dear Dr. Hedman:

On behalf of Governor Rauner, in response to the March 20, 2015, letter from U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) Acting Assistant Administrator Janet G. McCabe to the Illinois EPA, which seeks "updated recommendations" for the next round of area designations under the revised sulfur dioxide (SO₂) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS), I submit the following attainment and nonattainment recommendations for the State of Illinois. These recommendations are specific to the areas surrounding the five Illinois power plants listed in the March letter. Included with these recommendations is supporting documentation. This documentation is also being provided to your staff in electronic format to facilitate a timely review.

The following designations are recommended for the listed power plants in Illinois:

Facility (Location)	Designation	Areal Extent of Designation Recommendation
Newton Power Station (Jasper County)	Attainment	Jasper County
Hennepin Power Station (Putnam County)	Attainment	Putnam County, Bureau County
Joppa Steam Coal Power Plant (Massac County)	Attainment	Massac County
Marion Power Station (Williamson County)	Attainment	Williamson County
Wood River Power Station (Madison County)	Nonattainment	Area east of Corporal Belchik Memorial Expressway, south of East Broadway, south of Route 3, and north of Route 143 in Alton Township.
	Attainment	All of Wood River Township, and the area north of Cahokia Diversion Channel in Chouteau Township.
	Unclassifiable	Remainder of Madison County.

Illinois EPA recommends that only that portion of Madison County in Alton Township that is east of the Corporal Belchik Memorial Expressway, south of East Broadway, south of Route 3, and north of Route 143 be designated as nonattainment for the 2010 primary 1-hour SO_2 NAAQS. A modeling analysis of facilities whose SO_2 emissions impact this area has shown modeled violations of the 2010 SO_2 standard.

If there are questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact David Bloomberg, Manager Air Quality Monitoring and Planning at 217-524-4949 or me.

Sincerely,

Lisa Bonnett, Director Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

Attachments

bcc: Julie Armitage, Bureau Chief David Bloomberg, AQPS Manager