## STATE OF ALASKA

## **DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION**OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

SEAN PARNELL, GOVERNOR

410 Willoughby Avenue, Suite 303 Post Office Box 111800 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1800 Phone: 907-465-5066

Fax: 907-465-5070 www.dec.state.ak.us

CERTIFIED MAIL: 7003 1680 0004 2906 8141 Return Receipt Requested

June 2, 2011

Dennis McLerran, Regional Administrator U.S. EPA Region 10 1200 6<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 900 (Mail Stop RA-140) Seattle, WA 98101

Dear Mr. McLerran:

On behalf of Governor Parnell, the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation provides the following recommendation for the initial designation of areas with respect to the "Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for Sulfur Dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>); Final Rule", as published in the Federal Register on June 22, 2010 (75 FR 35520). The State of Alaska does not have recent State/Local Ambient Monitoring Station (SLAMS) SO<sub>2</sub> data that could be used to determine compliance with the NAAQS. SO<sub>2</sub> SLAMS Network was dismantled in the 1990s after measured concentrations indicated that no areas within the state would violate the annual SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS.

Consequently, at this time the state recommends that all areas within the borders of the State of Alaska be designated as unclassifiable with respect to the 1-hour SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS. Please accept this letter as an initial designation recommendation in accordance with the requirements of Section 107(d) (1) (A) of the Clean Air Act. Alice Edwards is available to your staff to respond to questions or to otherwise assist. She can be phoned at (907) 465-5109. As always, I would be pleased to discuss any of this with you.

Sincerely,

Larry Hartig Commissioner cc: Rick Albright, EPA Region 10
Debra Suzuki, EPA Region 10
Krishna Viswanathan, EPA Region 10
Alice Edwards, Director, Division of Air Quality, DEC
Barbara Trost, Program Manager, Air Monitoring & Quality Assurance, DEC
Cindy Heil, Acting Program Manager, ANPM Source Program, DEC