Intergovernmental Review Process

This process should be initiated prior to submitting your application to EPA!

Executive Order 12372 and EPA's implementing regulation 40 CFR Part 29 require that all interested state, area-wide, regional, and local agencies be given the opportunity to review and comment on proposed Federal assistance within their area(s) of jurisdiction or influence. The regulations also provide for implementation of the requirements of Section 204 of the Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Development Act of 1966, as amended, which apply to all Federal assistance.

EPA cannot award assistance until all interested parties (e.g., State agencies, Planning and Economic Development agencies) have been given the opportunity to review the proposed project and all concerns of these agencies about the proposed project have been satisfactorily disposed of by the applicant.

Tribal Government applicants are encouraged to comply with this process, but it is not mandatory.

We recommend you begin the Intergovernmental Review process as early as possible, preferably <u>at least 60 days prior</u> to submitting your application to EPA. The Intergovernmental Review process varies by State, so we encourage you to contact your State Single Point of Contact (SPOC) to determine if an application review is required. A complete list of state SPOCs may be found at the following <u>OMB web site</u>.

Due to the elimination of SPOCs in the States of Kansas and Nebraska, it is necessary that applicants for funding which impacts those states submit their applications to the appropriate state, county, and areawide reviewing agencies. A list of those agencies is included below. It is not necessary to send an application to all Development Districts and agencies listed but only to those agencies responsible for the area(s) affected or that may be affected by your proposed project.

Please enclose with your application to EPA a copy of all comments received from the review process and include an explanation of action taken to address any concerns of the designated agencies.

The EPA is not affiliated with any of the organizations listed, the purpose of which is to assist Region 7 grant applicants with compliance of Executive Order 12372, Intergovernmental Review of Federal Programs.

This information has been compiled based on available information. Questions and corrections should be directed to the Region 7 grants staff or submitted to R7Grants@epa.gov.

Revision: August 2015

States with a Single Point of Contact (SPOCs)

State of Iowa

Kathy Mabie Iowa Department of Management State Capitol Building Room G12 1007 E Grand Avenue Des Moines, Iowa 50319 Telephone: (515) 281-8834

Fax: (515) 281-7076 Kathy.Mabie@iowa.gov

State of Missouri

Sara VanderFeltz
Federal Assistance Clearinghouse
Office of Administration
Commissioner's Office
Capitol Building, Room 125
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
Telephone: (573) 751-0337

Fax: (573) 751-1212

sara.vanderfeltz@oa.mo.gov

States without a Single Point of Contact (SPOCs)

State of Kansas

Northwest Kansas Planning and Development Commission

Randall Hrabe, Executive Director

P.O. Box 248

319 North Pomeroy

Hill City, KS 67642

Phone: (785) 421-2151 Fax: (785) 421-3496

Counties: Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Gove, Graham, Logan, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks,

Russell, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego, & Wallace

North Central Regional Planning Commission

Doug McKinney, Executive Director

P.O. Box 565

109 North Mill

Beloit, KS 67420

Phone: (785) 738-2218 Fax: (785) 738-2185

Email: ncrep@ncken.com
Website: www.ncrpc.org

Counties: Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Marshall, Mitchell, Ottawa, Republic,

Saline, and Washington

Flint Hills Regional Council

Gary Stith, Director

P.O. Box 514

885 Marshall Loop

Fort Riley, KS 66442

Phone: (855) 785-3472 Fax: (855) 329-3472

Website: www.flinthillsregion.org

Counties: Chase, Geary, Lyon, Morris, Riley, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee

Mo-Kan Regional Council

Tom Bliss, Executive Director

224 North 7th Street

Saint Joseph, MO 64501

Phone: (816) 233-3144 Fax: (816) 233-8498

Website: www.mo-kan.org

Counties: Atchison (KS), Doniphan (KS), Andrew (MO), Buchanan (MO), Clinton (MO) and

DeKalb (MO)

State of Kansas (continued)

Mid-America Regional Council

David Warm, Executive Director 600 Broadway, Suite 200 Kansas City, MO 64105-1659

Phone: (816) 474-4240 Website: www.marc.org

Counties: Johnson (KS), Leavenworth (KS), Miami (KS), Wyandotte (KS), Cass (MO), Clay (MO),

Jackson (MO), Platte (MO) and Ray (MO)

South Central Kansas Economic Development District

Abdul Arif, Executive Director 209 W. Douglas, Suite 710 Wichita, KS 67202

Phone: (316) 262-7035 Fax: (316) 262-7062

Website: www.sckedd.org

Counties: Butler, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Marion,

McPherson, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick and Sumner

Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission

Dennis Arnold, Executive Director

P.O. Box 664

410 S. Evergreen Avenue

Chanute, KS 66720

Phone: (620) 431-0080 Fax: (620) 431-4805

Website: www.sekrpc.org

Counties: Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery,

Neosho, Wilson and Woodson

State of Nebraska

Panhandle Area Development District

Chuck Karpf, Executive Director 1517 Broadway, Suite 101 Scottsbluff, NE 69361

Phone: (308) 438-6584 Fax: (308) 436-6577

Website: www.nepadd.com

Counties: Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Kimball, Morrill, Scotts Bluff,

Sheridan and Sioux

Central Nebraska Economic Development District

Judy Petersen, Executive Director

P.O. Box 20

Chambers, NE 68725 Phone: (402) 340-0106 Website: www.cnedd.org

Counties: Blaine, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Custer, Garfield, Greeley, Holt, Keya Paha, Loup, Rock,

Sherman, Valley and Wheeler

West Central Nebraska Development District

Karl Elmshaeuser, Executive Director

P.O. Box 599 333 East 2nd Street Ogallala, NE 69153 Phone: (308) 284-6077

Website: www.west-central-nebraska.com

Counties: Arthur, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Grant, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker,

Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Perkins, Red Willow and Thomas

South Central Economic Development District

Sharon Hueftle, Executive Director

P.O. Box 79

401 East Avenue, 2nd Floor

Holdrege, NE 68949 Phone: (308) 995-3190 Website: www.scedd.us

Counties: Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Howard, Kearney, Merrick,

Nuckolls, Phelps and Webster

State of Nebraska (continued)

Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District

Thomas Higginbotham, Jr., Executive Director

111 South First Street Norfolk, NE 68701

Phone: (402) 379-1150 Fax: (402) 379-9207

Website: www.nenedd.org

Counties: Antelope, Boone, Burt, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dixon, Dodge, Knox, Madison, Nance,

Pierce, Platte, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne

Southeast Nebraska Development District

Dave Taladay, Executive Director

2631 O Street Lincoln, NE 68510

Phone: (402) 475-2560 Fax: (402) 475-2794

Website: www.sendd.org

Counties: Butler, Cass, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Polk,

Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Thayer and York

Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council

Dwight Lang, Executive Director

P.O. Box 1077 1122 Pierce Street Sioux City, IA 51102

Phone: (712) 279-6286 Fax: (712) 279-6920

Website: www.simpco.org

Counties: Dakota (NE), Cherokee (IA), Ida (IA), Monona (IA), Plymouth (IA) and Woodbury (IA)

Metropolitan Area Planning Agency

Greg Youell, Executive Director

2222 Cuming Street Omaha, NE 68102-4328

Phone: (402) 444-6866 Fax: (402) 342-0949

Website: www.mapacog.org

Counties: Douglas (NE), Sarpy (NE), Washington (NE), Mills (IA) and Pottawattamie (IA)