Programs of the Office of the Science Advisor (OSA)

Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers

Rewarding Cutting Edge Science


On behalf of EPA, OSA has worked with the White House and other Federal agencies to recognize promising new engineers and scientists. EPA has participated in the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for four years.

The PECASE award is the highest honor given by the U.S. government to outstanding early-career engineers and scientists. It identifies and honors the finest federal researchers who are beginning their independent research careers and who show exceptional potential for leadership in the future. Selection for this award is based on two criteria:

  1. The performance of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology relevant to the EPA
  2. A commitment to community service, as demonstrated through scientific leadership, education or community outreach

The Office of Research and Development's Dr. Rebecca Dodder and Office of Policy's Alex Marten are the 2013 EPA Winners. Dr. Dodder was recognized for her innovative approach to evaluating current and emerging environmental challenges and opportunities related to energy production and use in the United States. Dr. Marten was recognized for his innovative economic research applying global integrated assessment models for calculating the social costs of greenhouse gases.

Past EPA winners include:

  • 2012: Dr. Steven Thomas Purucker
    • Awarded for exceptional innovation and initiative in creating modeling applications that enable decision-makers and scientists to conduct chemical risk assessments.
    • Read about his award
  • 2011: Dr. Mehdi Hazari and Mr. Adam Eisele
    • Awarded for their research and contribution to studies in air pollution and human susceptibility.
    • Read about their award
  • 2010: Dr. Gayle Hagler and Dr. David Reif
    • Awarded for their contributions to the field of innovative tools and technologies, as well as human health and the environment.
    • Read about their award