Where is the Managing Hazardous Waste at Academic Laboratories Rule in Effect?

Like in most federal environmental legislation, the EPA encourages states to develop and run their own hazardous waste programs as an alternative to direct EPA management. The Academic Laboratories final rule went into effect immediately in states, territories, and tribes that are not RCRA-authorized, including Iowa and Alaska. State adoption of the 2008 Academic Laboratories final rule is strongly encouraged. However, it is optional because the rule is neither more nor less stringent than the pre-existing regulations under RCRA.

To help academic laboratories follow the regulations in their state, both a map and an alphabetical list of states and U.S. territories are given below. The map shows which states :

  • have become authorized for the Academic Laboratories Rule,
  • have adopted the rule,
  • have not been authorized or adopted the rule, and
  • in which states the EPA administers the rule.

The chart below the map lists the state or U.S. territory, a link to the state's regulations if applicable, and whether the state has adopted or been authorized for the rule.

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.

Show states in four categories: authorize, adopted, neither authorized or adopted, and administered by EPA Region
State or Territory Link to State Regulations Adopted the Rule Authorized for the Rule
Federal Tribes (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by appropriate EPA Region
Alabama Alabama Regulations (PDF) Exit(1072 pp, 337 MB) Yes No
Alaska (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by EPA Region 10
American Samoa (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by EPA Region 9
Arizona   No No
Arkansas Arkansas Regulations (PDF) Exit(827 pp, 30 MB) Yes No
California   No No
Colorado   No No
Connecticut   No No
Delaware   No No
District of Columbia   No No
Florida   Yes No
Georgia Georgia Regulations Yes No
Guam   No No
Hawaii   No No
Idaho Idaho Regulations (PDF) Exit(12 pp, 113 K) Yes Yes
Illinois Illinois Regulations Exit Yes No
Indiana Indiana Regulations (PDF) Exit(2 pp, 12 K) Yes No
Iowa (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by EPA Region 7
Kansas   No No
Kentucky   No No
Louisiana   No No
Maine   No No
Maryland   No No
Massachusetts   No No
Michigan   No No
Minnesota    No No
Mississippi Mississippi Regulations Exit Yes No
Missouri   Yes No
Montana Pending Yes No
Nebraska   No No
Nevada   No No
New Hampshire   No No
New Jersey New Jersey Regulations (PDF) Exit(161 pp, 684 K) Yes No
New Mexico    No No
New York   No No
North Carolina   Yes No
North Dakota    No No
Northern Mariana Islands (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by EPA Region 9
Ohio  Ohio Regulations Exit Yes No
Oklahoma Oklahoma Regulations (PDF) Exit(28 pp, 74 K) Yes Yes
Oregon   No No
Pennsylvania  Pennsylvania Regulations Exit Yes No
Puerto Rico (uses Federal Regulations and Puerto Rico Regulations) No No
Rhode Island   No No
South Carolina    No No
South Dakota South Dakota Regulations Exit Yes No
Tennessee    No No
Texas    Yes No
U.S. Virgin Islands (uses Federal Regulations) Administered by EPA Region 2
Utah Utah Regulations Exit Yes No
Vermont  Vermont Regulations (PDF) Exit(27 pp, 88 K)
see Section 7-109(b)(4) on page 1-24
Yes No
Virginia Virginia Regulations Exit Yes No
Washington   No No
West Virginia West Virginia Regulations Exit Yes No
Wisconsin    No No
Wyoming    No No

Notes About Table:

  • Adoptions and authorization status listed above are as of April 15, 2013. 
  • The above links may not be the most current.
  • You may need to search within the state website.
  • Links to all state programs can be found on the State Regulatory Programs page.

Top of Page

AlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaColoradoConnecticutDelawareWashington, DCFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachussetsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyomingPuerto RicoVirgin IslandsAmerican SamoaNorthern Mariana IslandsGuam