Targeted Brownfields Assessments (TBA)

What is a TBA?

EPA's Targeted Brownfields Assessment (TBA) program is designed to help states, tribes, and municipalities—especially those without EPA Brownfields assessment pilots/grants—minimize the uncertainties of contamination often associated with Brownfields. Targeted Brownfields Assessments supplement and work with other efforts under EPA's Brownfields program to promote the cleanup and redevelopment of brownfields. EPA's TBA assistance is available through two sources: directly from EPA through EPA regional Brownfields offices under Subtitle A of the law, and from state or tribal voluntary response program offices receiving funding under Subtitle C of the law. 

Regional Targeted Brownfields Assessment Programs

  • Region 1 - (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusettes, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)
  • Region 2 - (New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)
  • Region 3 - (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia)
  • Region 4 - (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee)
  • Region 5 - (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin)
  • Region 6 - (Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
  • Region 7 - (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)
  • Region 8 - (Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming)
  • Region 9 - (American Samoa, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada)
  • Region 10 - (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)