Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC)

Sustainable and Healthy Communities BOSC Subcommittee

Designated Federal Official

Jace Cuje (
Office of Science Policy
Office of Research and Development


Robert B. Richardson
Associate Professor
Department of Community Sustainability
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Michigan State University

Vice Chair

Courtney G. Flint
Associate Professor
Dept of Sociology, Social Work & Anthropology
Utah State University


Todd BenDor
Associate Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Robert Cervero
Distinguished Chair of Urban Studies
School of Environmental Design
University of California, Berkeley

Andrew Dannenberg
Affiliate Professor
Dept. of Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences
School of Public Health
University of Washington

Richard Feiock
Professor and Eminent Scholar Chair
School of Public Administration and Policy
Florida State University

Elena G. Irwin
Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics Department
Ohio State University

James Kelly
Health Program Manager
Environmental Surveillance and Assessment Section
Minnesota Department of Health

Carlos Martin
Senior Research Associate
Metropolitan Housing and Communities Policy Center
The Urban Institute

Peter B. Meyer
President and Chief Economist
The E.P. Systems Group, Inc.

Earthea Nance
Associate Dean, School of Public Affairs
Associate Professor, Dept. of Urban Planning & Environmental Policy
Texas Southern University

Matthew Naud
Environmental Coordinator
Systems Planning Unit
City of Ann Arbor

I. Leslie Rubin
Morehouse School of Medicine

Mike Steinhoff
Program Officer
Tools & Technical Innovation
ICLEI-Local Governments for Sustainability, USA

John Tharakan
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Chemical Engineering
Howard University

Bill Tomlinson
Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
University of California, Irvine